A rocky path

3 Feb

Happy Thursday eve to you all – or whatever day and time it is where you are.

I was hoping to tell you all to hitch a ride with me over to my new home. But things have transpired (boring, formatty, interwebby things) that mean that’s not possible tonight. By tomorrow, I hope I can give you the formal invite. Not a lot has changed about the blog, just where it ‘lives’ now. But things will change. Change and improve and grow. So I’m excited.

Tomorrow, we’ll go. Okay?

I’m in a strange mood tonight. I have heard some news about the child of a dear friend. Some news that was unexpected. Unsettling news. Upsetting.

So I am left feeling shaken. And I am reminded of what a blessing my two boys are. Of how I would move heaven and earth to ensure that they have everything they need in order to go out into the world and become young men. Even now, with each passing day, they get further and further away from needing me.

But sometimes, our children need us more than we ever anticipated. And it’s harder than we could ever dream. And we wonder why it is that this precious child should have been given a road ahead that is not as easy as the road that others are walking. And we wonder if we are up to the task of leading them on that rocky journey.

Here’s what I know. We ARE up to the task. Because God never gives us more than we can handle. It’s just that sometimes, we might wish that God didn’t have so much damn faith in us.

So tonight, I am thinking of my dear friend. I am thinking about what lies ahead for her and for her youngest child. I am looking ahead to the future with her. I can see what she sees – a rockier path than first imagined. But I also see, as I know she does, too, the promise of the future. With knowledge comes power. And I know that she will arm herself with every available piece of information so that there is no stronger force. She will be the suspension cushioning the impact of her little one’s journey.

Once again, thank you for coming along on this ride with me.

5 Responses to “A rocky path”

  1. Rae February 3, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    Our children really do bring perspective to our lives. Too often we take them for granted. God might throw a spanner in the works but it’s always for a reason. We have to believe that xx

    • Angie aka The Little Mumma February 4, 2011 at 6:26 am #

      Yes. Trying to understand why we’ve been taken down a certain path, particularly a difficult one, can be so hard. But with time, it always seems to make sense in terms of how we have changed and grown because of it.

      • Rae February 4, 2011 at 9:57 am #

        Absolutely.

      • Jane February 4, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

        It’s definitley a hard one. And it’s such a process and you can only go through it at your own pace. I wish your friend much strength throughout the coming months/years.

      • Angie aka The Little Mumma February 4, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

        I thought of you as I wrote this, Jane. I knew you would understand.

Leave a Reply

